Answer: Jokers can only be used in sets of 3, 4, 5, or more. **
But what, I hear you ask, defines a set? Simple:
a set is all tiles exactly the same.
For example:
Example sets:3 Nine Dots
4 Flowers (I know they look different, but they're the same. Trust me.)
4 Souths
On the right, you see the same sets, but with jokers included.
Without jokers, Quints (sets of five) are simply impossible!
Do I need to have a representative tile in a set? What? Can I have an all-joker set to represent, say, 3 Nine Dots?
All-joker sets are just fine and dandy. Except your opponents may turn plaid with envy.
No-go Country for Jokers
Can Jokers be used in a pair? NO! To quote the Official Standard Hands and Rules (AKA the Card): "Joker or Jokers can NEVER be used for single tile or pair." No place for a joker.Not in the 2012 (year) groupings either. See? There's no place for the Joker. Sad, sad joker. And sad, sad player who calls "Mah Jongg" with that in their hand.
* Sometimes this question is expressed a bit more colorfully, but I have cleaned up the language for clarity.
** Yes, sometimes there are sets requiring 6--yes, 6--duplicate tiles. Crazy, yet, but it's been known to happen.





No comments:
Post a Comment